A GREAT day out was had at Littondale Fete.

The children's fancy dress had the theme of God's Own County and top honours went to Roxy Middleton, who was a Yorkshire Rose, with Molly Miller and Thomas Pringle close behind

With strong competition, Litton was the overall winner of the parish displays, with Hawkswick second and Arncliffe and Halton Gill with Foxup in joint third.

The sheep counting winner was Alice Quirke with correct guess of 163 sheep. Although four people guessed correctly, she was closest to the tie break question of how many sheep there were in the Sudan - 43.2 million!

The Strongman Challenge was won by Ted Mason - who was also second in the senior fell race - and J Jackson. Sadly no women entered this year.

And The Fell Runners were this year's tug of war champions.

There was an excellent turn out for the fell races with 171 competitors.

The under nines were headed by Nathan Gaunt in 5.58 followed by Finley Testa 6.06 and Laurie Powell 6.18. The girls were not far behind with a real battle for first, second and third places. Beau Walkingshaw crossed the finish line in 6.41, Lilly Smith in 6.53 and Maggie Hudson in seven minutes.

Frazer Sproul took the under 12s prizes for the second year running in 6.57 but could not beat the record he set last year. Louis Hudson was second in 7.14 and Thomas Marshall third in 7.17. First girl home was Charlotte Barrett in 7.57, followed by Lauryn Gregg 8.24 and Poppy Anderson 8.29

The run of the day was by under 14s winner Joshua Boyle who broke Will Smith's 2009 record by 39 seconds to finish in 8.27. The runner-up Euan Boyle was over a minute behind in 9.32 and third was Raffi Quirke 9.34. The girls' honours went to Briony Holt in 10.10, followed by Mia Walsh 10.49 and Abbie Allan 11.46.

The under 17s race produced another runaway victor - Ruaridh Mon-Williams finished in 11.59 which would have placed him eighth in the senior race. Second was Thomas Nelson in 12.29 and third Matthew Merrick, 12.31.

The senior race brought victory for one-time winner and record holder Simon Bailey who crossed the line in 10.38 followed by Ted Mason in 10.46 and Duncan Birtwistle 11.09. The first lady home was Emma Hopkinson in 13.32 followed by Hazel Robinson 14.05 and Pippa Barrett 15.18. Roger Gibson another former winner turned out and took the first local prize

All profits will go towards the upkeep of Amerdale Hall, Arncliffe.

Pictures by Peter Fort.