West Craven Turbines power to Hyndburn League Plate final victory

West Craven Turbines with the Hyndburn League Plate

West Craven Turbines with the Hyndburn League Plate

First published in Sport by

Despite not having their dangerman Oliver Hylands and having lost the 2012 final to Ribby Hall Jets, West Craven Turbines were confident of lifting the Hyndburn League Plate final against Burnley Magpies, who they had never beaten.

The Turbines were led by shooting guard Pete Marshall, who would prove just as valuable as Hylands, and forwards Raul Gonzalez and Roman ‘Dragon’ Bradshaw and regulars Renko Ireton, Ben Capps, Peter Robinson, Phil Smith and Daniel Widdup followed his lead as they chased the club’s first silverware.

Most valuable player Marshall, with 12 points, was the only Turbines scorer in the first quarter, but they conceded 19.

However, new signing Gonzalez scored six unanswered baskets in the second quarter, after which the Turbines trailed 29-26.

Point guard Donal Cummings then inspired Magpies to lead by 15 points but defensive intensity saw that narrowed to eight at 45-37 with one quarter left.

Marshall, Gonzalez (16 points) and Robinson were instrumental in the Turbines taking the last stanza 28-10 to win 65-55.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree