Haworth Road have few problems reaching quarter-finals

8:20pm Tuesday 3rd June 2014

By Trevor Coe

Last year’s Cowling Cup runners-up Haworth Road II are through to the third round after seeing off Airedale II at Bradford Road.

Narinder Gata-Aura (49) and Rehan Ahmed (38) helped the Baildon Bottom side make 162-8 in their overs before Paul Rodwell (4-3) put the skids under the home side, who closed on 89.

Jonathan Swarbrick (28), Mick Gildea (4-12) and Ray Tunnacliffe (3-22) were the stars of Foulridge II's seven-wicket victory at Cononley II, for whom Richard Mansell made 36.

Ingrow II were restricted to 80 at Shires Lane, with Simon Holt taking 4-12 as skipper Adrian Weatherill top-scored with 26.

Embsay II stuttered to 31-4 before Brian Hodgson (32no) and skipper Robin Youngman (18no) ensured there were no further hiccups. Tony Hodgson finished with 3-20 off his 12 overs.

Thornton II's Daniel Oldfield (98) hit the day’s highest score to go with Paul Ellis’s 47 as they made a massive 246-5 at Beckfoot Lane. Charlie Raistrick (41) and Keon Dalladay (40) helped Bingley Congs II to 133 in reply.

Probable favourites Oakworth II had few problems disposing of Crossflatts II. The Ryshworth Park side were dismissed for 51, with Ollie Stell taking 4-20. Drew Duffy (33no) and James Lee (14no) saw the Cure Hill side home by ten wickets.

Cowling II conceded their tie to Barrowford II, while Bradley II and Long Lee II were eliminated after their first teams conceded their games.

Third-round draw: Oakworth II v Haworth Road II, Thornton II v Embsay II, Chatburn II v Barrowford II, Foulridge II v Bradford and Bingley. Matches to be played on Sunday, June 22.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Craven Herald: Site Logo http://www.cravenherald.co.uk

Click 2 Find Business Directory http://www.cravenherald.co.uk/trade_directory/