KEIGHLEY & Craven Athletics Club took bronze in the Bradford Millennium Way Relay, which finished at Wagon Lane, Bingley on Sunday.

Christian Holmes and Nick Charlesworth broke the finishing tape first for Wharfedale Harriers, but Adie Thomas and Jorge Thomas took Keighley & Craven past Airedale into bronze.

Stuart Walton and Scott Bairstow helped Keighley & Craven jump from seventh into fourth on the leg to Silsden.

Wharfedale Harriers completed the 47 miles in 5hr 34min 17sec, just five minutes off Bingley’s 2011 record.

The Dales club took the lead from Airedale’s Will Kerr and Matt Nowell near the end of the first leg and were never challenged. Chris Ward and Steve Tilford handed over at Penistone Country Park – the new changeover point – with a 16-second lead.

Sam Watson and Ted Mason opened up a 12-minute gap for Wharfedale by Laycock, with new team member Marcin Soszka and James Goodall keeping Airedale in second.

Host club Saltaire Striders’ experienced duo of Jack Verity and Mick Brearley were seventh on the leg, just ahead of their Dutch guests Martin Lohoff and Harmannus Hovinga.

Fell specialists Andy Brown and Keighley’s Ian Holmes (pictured) ran 61min 4sec (a record on this shortened leg) as Bingley moved from 16th to sixth. Fifth fastest leg-time was by Pudsey Pacers’ Karen Pickles and Michelle Tenwick in 74:14.

Four teams moved clear on the leg to Silsden as Harry Muir and John Lockwood increased Wharfedale’s lead. Bingley moved into third with Sean Thompson and James Senior, while Pete Hopson and Martin Fillingham held Airedale in second.

The run of the day happened on leg four.

Rebecca Cesar de Sa and Dave Stoneman brought Skyrac’s mixed team into 18th of 43. Just outside the course record for a mixed team, their 70:15 was third quickest to Ilkley.

Meanwhile, Dave Kirkham and Jonny Bradshaw were extending Wharfedale’s lead to 23 minutes at this final baton-change.

Graham Watson and Tom Gomersall brought Bingley into second, which Jamie Robinson and Tom Hooper held to Bradford & Bingley Sports Club.

Accrington Vets won the over-35s prize in fifth overall and retained their mixed title in 12th.

Skyrac’s Chris Dove and Nicola Squires ran the last leg in 81:33, the third fastest mixed time ever.

Bingley Ladies held off Horsforth and Wakefield for the women’s prize.