THE wind blew and the rain lashed in all directions but it failed to dampen spirits in this year’s Farleton Knott Fell Race.

In the first “full kit” race of the BOFRA season, the ground was muddy and sodden and the wet scree added an extra note of excitement for this year’s hardy contenders.

Despite the atrocious conditions, the race winner was Ted Mason of Wharfedale Harriers, continuing his excellent season

Second was fellow Wharfedale Harrier Jack Smith and third was Jack Simpson of Leeds City AC.

Continuing her incredible form, Emma Hopkinson of Wharfedale Harriers was first lady followed by Cumbrian Fell Runners’ Nina Walkingshaw with Lisa Lacon of Holmfirth Harriers in third place.

Wharfedale Harriers’ Thomas Nelson flew down the scree to win the under-17 race, with clubmate Harry Muir in second place and Bingley Harriers’ Matthew Merrick third.

The first under-17 girl was Wharfedale’s Ellie Lambert, followed by Helm Hill’s Katherine Lawson and Bingley Harriers’ Victoria Merrick.

The under-14 race was won by Josh Boyle of Hyndburn with Broughton Runners’ Joe Edmondson second and Ilkley Harriers’ Euan Brennan third.

The first three girls were Clayton-le-Moors Briony Holt, Helm Hill’s Mia Walsh and Wharfedale Harriers’ Emily Jones.

Kendal’s Fraser Sproul took the title in this year’s under-12 race. Hot on his heels was Ben Edmondson of Broughton Runners with Keighley and Craven’s Louis Hudson in third place.

The first girl was Keighley and Craven’s Lilli Carr, followed by Rossendale’s Lauryn Gregg, second, and Wharfedale Harriers’ Charlotte Barrett.

First girl, and under-nine race winner, was Olesia Winder of Hoad Hill. Second girl, and third overall, was Ambleside’s Sophie Rylance. Wharfedale Harriers’ Eibhlis Price was third girl.

The first under-nine boy was Wharfedale Harriers’ Nathan Caunt who was second overall. He was followed by Settle Harriers’ Douglas Seggar-Staveley, and Stan Allan in third place.