MERCIA'S Simon Bailey continued his good form and shattered the hopes of the Craven big guns in the BOFRA Hawkswick Dash.

The fast and furious battle of the giants saw Bailey win in a time of 11min 23sec with Barlick Fell Runners' Jimmy Craig (12:05) just holding off Borrowdale's Morgan Donnelly by two seconds to take second place.

Wharfedale Harriers' Ted Mason, the 2015 BOFRA champion had to settle for fourth place.

The ladies podium was no less impressive as Wharfedale Harriers’ Kirsty Hall took victory once again with a time of 15:14. She was followed home by Ripon Runners’ Sally Houghton (16.14) and Wharfedale team mate Jean Powell (16.50), who were second and third respectively.

The under-17 race produced a Wharfedale Harriers one-two with Adam Gibson winning in 13.40 and Logan Hargreaves-Madhas (13.58) taking second place. Keighley and Craven’s Jack Walton (14.38) was third. All three were faster than their respective dads who were contesting the senior race.

The first girl was Clayton le Moors Briony Holt (15.38) who has been in impressive form this year. Settle Harriers’ Emily Carpenter (21.28) and Keighley and Craven’s Alana Willis (28.22) were second and third respectively.

The under-14 race was won by Settle’s Thomas Marshall, with Wharfedale team mates and brothers Alex and Will Thompson second and third respectively.

The girls’ race was won by Wharfedale’s Alice Jones with Rossendale Harriers’ Lauryn Gregg second and Helm Hill’s Annabelle Taylor in third.

The under-12 race winner was Helm Hills’ Henry Hunter, from Clayton le Moors Dexta Thompson and Calder Valley’s James Duffy.

The first girl was Clayton’s Ella Dorrington, followed by Broughton Runners’ Emily Swarbrick with and Keighley and Craven’s Beth Roberts in third place.

In a break with recent tradition, the under-nines returned to the fell this year, rather than a romp around the hilly fields.

All the runners rose to the new challenge and the race was won by a speedy Jacob Reeday of Barlick FR.

The second and third boys were Campbell Donnelly and Keighley and Craven’s James Sadler-Townsend.

The first girl was Barlick’s Lucille Pickles, followed by Keighley and Craven’s Layla Kirkley, second and Mathilda Evans third.