KEIGHLEY ALBION president Terry Caddy has been recognised for his long service and contribution to the sport at the annual Rugby Football League Community Game awards.

Held at Old Trafford on Super League Grand Final day, Terry received the accolade at a pre-match dinner hosted by former Wigan and Great Britain international Dennis Betts, who is the current coach of Widnes Vikings.

Terry was presented with a Services to Rugby League Award, having been an active member of the amateur rugby league scene within Keighley for over 50 years.

As well as his contribution to Keighley Albion, where he was a player and committee member as well as his current role of president, Terry has been a serving management committee member of the RFL’s National Conference League (NCL) for nearly 20 years up to his retirement from that position in 2015.

During his time with the NCL, Terry was a constant advocate for helping expand the game in developing countries.

He was team manager for the Great Britain representative touring sides from the NCL, which took him to France and Morocco and saw them win five games out of six overseas. He was also involved in organising European Championship games for NCL sides.

An RFL spokesman said: “Terry was an unsung hero, never craving reward but rather accepting his role with quiet and unassuming reservation.

"Terry is passionate about the game (of rugby league). His experience and knowledge, including the administrative frontier, shows his strength of character which over time many have come to admire and respect.”

Keighley Albion spokesman John Normington added: “Terry’s award is well deserved as he has been a tireless servant both to Albion and the wider amateur game within the UK.

"He should be justifiably proud of his achievements both with his club and for the National Conference League. His continued support of Albion and his desire to keep pushing the club forwards has helped the club make significant progress in getting the local community involved and participating in junior and senior amateur rugby league.”