SKIPTON MP Julian Smith has lost his chief whip position as new Prime Minister Boris Johnson pulls together his cabinet.

Mr Johnson was officially declared the leader of the Conservatives today after weeks of voting.

One of the first appointments Mr Johnson made was that of chief whip which has been given to Sherwood MP Mark Spencer.

Mr Smith has been MP for Skipton and Ripon since 2010 and was appointed as chief whip of the House of Commons by former Prime Minister Theresa May, in 2017.

He had been one of six MPs who had led the leadership campaign on behalf of Mrs May following the 2016 Referendum after David Cameron resigned.

The remaining top jobs are due to be announced when Mr Johnson officially takes over from Mrs May tomorrow (Wednesday).

Mr Smith had been seen leaving 10 Downing Street prior to the announcement of the new leader.