A LONG-established curry house in Settle has been named amongst the best in the country in the annual English Curry Awards.

The Ruchee restaurant, in Commercial Yard, beat off fierce competition to pick up the award for 'best customer experience' in the 12th annual celebration of the best curry houses and chefs across the country.

After months of anticipation and fierce competition, the awards ceremony took place on Monday (August 14) at The Holiday Inn Birmingham. The ceremony was attended by more than 400 guests from across the country - including the Ruchee's head chef Aminur Rahman.

The awards recognise excellence in a range of categories, including chef of the year, voter’s best choice restaurant of the year, curry King or Queen and curry restaurant of the year.

The Ruchee has been in business for more than 20 years and serves up Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine. It prides itself on always looking to improve on its service and to bridge the gap between traditional and contemporary food.

Owner, Mohammed Ali, said: "I’m so happy to have received this award it’s put life back into hard work from myself and team Ruchee that we’re on the right track especially with a rough few years during Covid."

The awards celebrate England’s rich and diverse curry culture and encourages the continued growth and evolution of the industry. The winners have distinguished themselves with their exceptional quality, innovation, and consistency in offering a truly memorable dining experience.

A spokesperson for The 12th English Curry Awards 2023 said: “It has been an unforgettable night, filled with incredible food, vibrant energy, and passionate conversations.

“We have celebrated the finest in the English curry scene, recognising the creativity, innovation, and exceptional service that have become synonymous with this beloved cuisine.

“The curry industry is a vital part of our culture, and these awards recognised the exceptional talents of the individuals and businesses that make it so special.

"Congratulations to all the winners and nominees, and thank you to everyone who participated and supported this event."