POPULAR Wharfedale Harriers runner Ted Mason produced an excellent finish at this year's Kettlewell Fell Race, storming out of the pack on the climb to finish second overall.

He crossed the line in 11 minutes and 40 seconds, just nine seconds behind winner Simon Bailey. Fellow Wharfedale Harrier, Jack Smith, was overtaken by Mason towards the end, but could be content with finishing third in 11.55.

In the ladies race, Ribble Valley Harriers’ Kirsty Hall was leading but was overtaken during the run to the summit by the eventual winner, Rossendale Harriers’ Sophie Horrocks.

Todmorden Harriers’ Annie Roberts also passed Hall, but she managed to maintain third and finished in 15.25.

The U17 race runs separately to the senior course, but it follows the same route. Consequently, many runners compare themselves to their adult counterparts.

Boys’ race winner, Wharfedale’s Sam Smith, reached the summit in 12.17, a result which would have put him fifth in the senior race! Helm Hill’s Robert Askew came second (12.37) with Keighley and Craven’s Eric Beaumont in third (12.40).

Ilkley Harriers’ Bernadette Raven continued her excellent form this season to win the girls' race (15.35) from Rossendale’s Lauryn Gregg (17.23).

Ambleside’s Charlie Allmond won the U14 boys’ race (9.06), adding another victory to his season by beating Helm Hill’s Alex Tallon (9.46) and Keighley’s Sam Headley (9.51).

Otley’s Charlotte Rawstron notched up another win (11.08) ahead of Rossendale’s Evie Taylor (11.25) and Keighley’s Emma Peel (11.34).

Helm Hill’s Jacob Reeday won the U12 race (6.21) from Rossendale’s Joe Ormrod (6.28) and Ambleside’s Rowan Ashworth (6.32).

Clayton-le-Moors runner Helena White also added another win (7.27) to her list as she took a clear victory from Keighley’s Maisie Bellwood (7.46) and Ilkley’s Hattie Bishop (7.52).

The U9 race was a fierce battle between Wharfedale’s Hugo Bishop and Josh Dent. In the end, Dent took the lead just before the turn and never looked back as he romped home as winner (5.20) ahead of Bishop (5.32) and Trawden’s Callum Singleton (5.41).

The girls’ race was a battle between Wharfedale club mates Elena Hooper and Isobel Patefield. At the turn, Hooper took a detour, allowing Patefield to gain the lead and never lose it, to win (6.16) ahead of Hooper (6.21) and Leven Valley’s Florrie Haddow (7.00).