THE Skipton Hire Centre Clarkson Cup quarter-finals, saw a close match between Rolls Royce and Broughton Road at Colne Alkincoates PWA.

The works side received 25 points handicap start, but saw that disappear as Broughton Road first four all won, led by Joanne Ellis’s 21-9 win.

Rolls then fought back with Steve Hounslow winning 21-10, Gary Bottomley 21-9 for the Roaders made it tight.

The last two games saw Ken Simmons win 21-14 for Rolls and Tim Bucke also win 21-14 for Broughton Road, so it was Rolls Royce who went through 235-233.

The other three quarter-finals were a bit one sided, Sutton A had to give 70 start against Silsden Playing Fields, but they proved to be far to strong with nine winners producing a 241-205 win.

Cononley B picked up three winners with Mark Pickles 21-11 the best against Colne Legion A at Gargrave, but the Legion side had enough strength in-depth not to be to concerned as they went through 249-209.

The final tie saw Whinfield A take on Settle B at Sutton, the Settle team received 40 start.

The match was totally dominated by Whinfield with six winners to single figures, Joan Myers 21-1 being the best, Barbara Ayrey 21-18 proved to be Settle’s only glimmer of light, as Whinfield went through 282-210.

The SHC Supplementary Cup was also at the quarter-final stage and again there was just one really close match, as Craven A got the better of last season’s winners Settle A.

Craven A had 30 points handicap start, Derek Seed for Settle got the start they needed with a 21-5 win, but two winners in the first four kept Craven in front.

The games from then on where close with Settle getting the winners but Craven players getting good scores.

It all came down to the last game, Settle’s Stan Bargh set up a 10-1 lead, but could not then hold, as Warren Burnett snr ran out with a 21-13 win, to take the match for Craven 250-242.

Cononley A were in blistering form against Sutton B, with 10 winners they turned the 80 points to Sutton B into a 220-189 win.

Division One leaders Colne Cricket are in good form at present, and a under-strength Crosshills A proved to be no match with just 30 points start.

Thomas Clamp 21-2 was Colne best winner, while Philip Hudson 21-13 was Crosshills best winner, the final score was 197-156.

The final tie saw Whinfield B against Keighley C, both teams had five winners, but the decisive winner was Whinfield’s Barry Heyworth 21-3. That made the big difference in a final score of 306-288.

The semi-finals, to be played on Tuesday, July 17: SHC Clarkson Cup, Sutton A(35) v Colne Legion A(55) at Devon, Rolls Royce A(75) v Whinfield A(75) at Settle.

SHC Supplementary Cup, Cononley A(10) v Craven A(80) at Silsden Playing Fields, Colne Cricket Club(scr) v Whinfield B(115) at Addingham.

The Yorkshire Ladies Merit for The Hyman Morris Trophy was held at Lund Park, Faye Ellis got to the quarter finals.

Meanwhile, there is a new name on the Hyman Morris Trophy, the Yorkshire Crown Green Bowling Ladies Merit this year when Helen Gilroy (Rufford Park) beat former winner Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Ossett Flying Horse) 21-13 in the final at Lund Park, Keighley on Sunday.

Gilroy, a former British Crown Green Ladies champion, had been a runner-up in the event in 2012.

The competition was played on fast running greens with some excellent bowling in the tricky conditions.

In the final, Gilroy took an early lead of 12-2, picking up the pace quickly and bowling near the jack.

Lunn-Gadd was rewarded for some of her near misses as she rallied to 13 before Helen completed the match.

Quarter-finals: Gilroy (Rufford Park) 21, Linda Gledhill (New Mill) 20; Faye Ellis (Skipton Craven) 17, Debbie Davis (Pudsey) 21; Kath Taylor (Chapel Allerton) 9, Fern Beaumont (New Mill) 21; Natalie Hughes Cross Gates) 8, Lunn-Gadd (Ossett Flying Horse) 21

Semi-finals: Gilroy 21, Debbie Davis 17; Fern Beaumont (New Mill) 13, Lunn-Gadd 21.