WHARFEDALE Harriers runner Ted Mason produced another determined performance to take third place in this year’s Alva Games Open Hill Race.

There was also another victory for the club's talented youngster Sam Smith in the under-17 boys race.

Athletes from as far afield as Kuwait and Australia toed the line for this race but, it was the Northern English runners who demonstrated the greatest fell running prowess.

The annual pilgrimage to Clackmannanshire, Scotland was marked this year by the same scorched earth conditions as elsewhere in the UK, giving very hard ground for running and making for some very fast times.

At 1.6 miles and with 1,300 feet of climb, it is a short but very steep, lung inverting, thigh-shredding race.

Ribble Valley’s Josh Boyle blew everyone away in the Scottish heat with his run all the way to the summit of Wee Torry and back, to win in 19.08mins, breaking the more recent record of 19:27 set by Mark Kuch in 1998 on the newer course.

The original record of 18:56, set by Tommy Sedgewick in 1976, over a slightly different route, still stands.

Helm Hill’s Josh Jardine (20:12) was more than a minute behind Boyle with Mason third in20:48.

The ladies race was no less thrilling as Ribble Valley’s Kirsty Hall powered her way over the golf course, through the sharp gorse and steep fell to win in 26:17 from Pudsey and Bramley’s Rachel Pilling (30:17) and third-placed Falkland Trail Runners’ Judith Turner.

Wharfedale Harriers’ Smith battled his way to the under-17 turn part way up the “hill” and romped home to win in 11:21 from Helm Hill’s Robert Askew (11:40) and Keighley & Craven’s Eric Beaumont, (11:50), who were second and third respectively.

The under-14 boys’ race winner was Ambleside’s Charlie Allmond (9:25) with Calder Valley’s William Hall taking second place in 10:39 ahead of Wharfedale’s Addison Willis (11.10).

Otley’s Charlotte Rawstron chased Willis down the hill to win the girls race in 11:36) from Cumberland club mates Emily Swarbrick (13:20) and Fayth Bowness (13:38)

Ambleside’s Rowan Ashworth took a clear win in the under-12 boys’ race (10:35) over a minute in front of Barlick’s Harley Treitl (11:48) and Cumberland Fell Runners’ Mylo Jewell (11:54) who were second and third.

Barlick’s Lucille Pickles won the girls’ race (13:41) from Cumberland’s Olivia Swarbrick (15:22) and Katherine Serrano (17:22).