AN urgent recruitment drive is needed for umpires in the Mewies Solicitors Craven and District League to stem a crisis, according to leading figure.

Fixtures secretary Trevor Coe revealed at the league's umpire plight at its annual awards dinner.

He said: "We are possibly reaching a crisis point. Some of our umpires are retiring because of age or health issues.

"A couple have decided to call it a day because of the pressure put on them by captains and players who can’t see what their behaviour is doing. So, we need to recruit new umpires.

"Where are they going to come from you ask? The obvious answer is that they have to come from the Clubs. Players who are hanging up their boots need to be encouraged to put something back into the game they love. Also, I would like to think that out there are ladies who might want to have a go, after all umpiring is not a male environment."

Meanwhile, the league's teams were recognised at the event with a review of the season. Division One was harder to predict this year than usual. Barrowford and Bingley Congs were the two main combatants, with Oakworth and Haworth Road lurking in the wings for any slip up. When the last week arrived the top team were level on points with the Bull Holme side having the better runs/wicket average.

Barrowford’s game at Ingrow was lost to the weather, so all Bingley Congs had to do was win. Opponents Haworth Road hadn’t read the script and beat their hosts by four wickets. The title went over the border to the red rose club.

Foulridge galloped away with Division Two. They ended seven points clear of Cowling and both teams are promoted to the top flight next year. At the bottom of Division Two is Chatburn and Glusburn. However, with the former leaving the league, only the latter are demoted.

Division Three was a nip and tuck affair for a number of weeks. Barrowford II managed to keep their noses in front and took the title – a third trophy escaping over the border. Crossflatts II and Riddlesden scrapped about the other promotion spot. Both teams finished level on points, with the Rhysworth Park side going up by virtue of winning one more game than the Grange Road side.

Division Four went to Chatburn II, who took the title by six points from Foulridge II. The latter will be joined by Silsden in Division Three.

The Wynn Cup winners were Embsay who beat Haworth Road by four wickets at Gargrave. While the Cowling Cup went over the border after Foulridge II saw off Barrowford II in a pulsating 20/20 final at Wilsden. The winning margin was 32 runs but 494 runs were scored in 39.5 overs.

The Manorlands Plate was washed out on the scheduled Sunday. It was then difficult to find another Sunday when all four sides were available. A number of clubs have made donations and that money is held by the league and will be sent to the league's chosen charity, Manorlands.

Winners of Trophies - 2018 season: Division One: Winners: Barrowford; Division Two: Winners: Foulridge. Division Three: Winners: Barrowford II. Division Four: Winners: Chatburn II.

Wynn Cup: Winners: Embsay, Runners-up: Haworth Road. Man of the Match: Sam Arkwright

Cowling Cup: Winners: Foulridge II; Runners-up: Barrowford II.

Division One: Batting: Ashir Imdad (Barrowford), Bowling: Damian Rowell (Haworth).

Division Two: Batting: Ajeet Singh (Eldwick & Gilstead), Bowling: Shahid Hassan (Cowling).

Division Three: Batting: Michael Scarborough (Oakworth), Bowling: Steve Broughton (Bingley Congs).

Division Four: Batting: Jack Roberts (Silsden), Bowling: Kieran Lawrence (Silsden).

The Hargreaves Batting Trophy: Ashir Imdad (Barrowford); The Garbutt Bowling Trophy: Damian Rowell (Haworth); The Fryers Wicketkeeping Trophy: James Fullwood (Riddlesden), Peter Gower (Haworth).

The Mewies Fielding Trophy: Toby Priestley (Denholme); The Mark Batty Memorial Trophy: Matthew Brooke (Cononley); The Norman Smith Merit Trophy: Matthew Wear (Denholme); The F S Trueman Ball Trophy: Elliot Stockton (Embsay);

The Harold Blackburn Trophy: Ben Hemsley (Bingley Congs) ; The Don Green Memorial Trophy: Ellis Marshall (Oakworth); The Frank Surgener Trophy: Toby Priestley (Denholme); The Derek Granger Memorial Trophy: Christopher Gill (Airedale)

The Secretary’s Trophy: Mohammad Qadeer (Riddlesden); The Treasurer’s Trophy: Qamar Zaman (Cowling); The Margaret Coe Memorial Trophy: Foulridge