NUMBERS were well down on normal for the second novice and beginner's trial on the Yeadon-Guiseley club's calendar at Emmotts, Silsden.

Dane Smith plotted a compact testing trial course with the tree-shrouded stream forming the backdrop for the first five sections.

The stream bed was more or less green so traction on the first two laps was at a premium.

The exit up round a tree tested all especially as water dragged up onto the grassy banking.

A Lampkin was in action and won the hard course class with ease. Sam dropped two marks in the fifth section on lap one. James Crabtree headed the easy class contenders.

Results: Hard course: Novices: Richard Hawson (Vertigo) 15, Ash Hancock (Beta) 30, Matt Baldwin (Scorpa) 33.

Youth Class A: Sam Lampkin (Beta) 2. Youth Class B: Joseph Hawson (Beta) 46. Easy course: Novices: James Crabtree (Beta) 31, Bob Motley (Montesa) 39 Youth Class B: Bradley Crabtree (Beta) 87.

Meanwhile, the Yeadon-Guiseley club staged their second trial of the weekend at Addingham Moorside on Sunday where 57 competitors rode a four-lap 10-section course.

Of that number, 13 contested the small wheels classes. East Keswick landscaper Dan Hemingway topped the hard route course though challenged though by his Class A teenage son Harry Hemingway, who but for penalties in section three would have been even closer at the end of the day.

The even younger Hemingway, George, shared the top spot in Clubman A with adult winner Scott Witting.

The Sherco duo of Phillip Hammond and Rob Hardisty sped round to take the Clubman B age group classes. Only 13 Small Wheels contenders rode a six-section four-lap course where Zachary Sellers was the hard route winner.

Toby Smith won the easy route from Otley's Edward Abram, who was out for the first time on an Oset 20 which was little too hard in the rear suspension department.

Results: Experts: Dan Hemingway (Beta) 2, Tom Ablewhite (Beta) 5, Sam Beecroft-Penny (TRS) 13.

Inters: Tom Rushton (Vertigo) 28, Donna Fox (Montesa) 49. Youth Class A: Harry Hemingway (Beta) 13, Frankie Rhodes (Beta) 53, Harvey Taglione (Gas Gas) 72.

Clubman A: Scott Witting (Sherco) 0, Adam Howling (Vertigo) 34, Megan Savage (Gas Gas) 41. Youth Class A: Harry McLoughlin (Beta) 34.

Youth Class B: George Hemingway (Beta) 9, Henry Stephenson (TRS) 33, Jasper Fox (Beta) 39. Clubman B: Richard Crabtree (Vertigo) 3, Karl Greaves (Vertigo) 4, Ivor Rhodes (Beta) 15.

Over 40s: Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 1, Jason Crossland (Montesa) 19. Over 50's: Rob Hardisty (Sherco) 1, Michael Hughes (Beta) 22, Peter Rossell (Yamaha) 27.

Youth Class C: Freddie Stephenson (Beta) 7, Harrison Lightfoot Beta) 49, Poppy Fletcher (Oset) 131.

Small Wheels Hard: Zachary Sellers (Beta) 18, Bobby Crabtree (Oset) 25, Kai Fairhurst (Beta) 39. Small Wheels Middle: Jenson Fox 38, William Bradley 60. (All Oset).

Small Wheels Easy: Koby Smith (Beta) 14, Edward Abram (Oset) 28, Sophie Sellers (Oset) 37.

Meanwhile, the Spen Valley club ventured onto Harden Moor on Sunday to run their fourth club championship on the rugged Bronte country moorland.

National sidecar championship contender, Nigel Scott, plotted a testing 10-section four-lap event for 33 solos and a lone three-wheeler in the form of Anthony Ayrton and his daughter Lucy.

No doubt at all the Ayrton team will be considering a ride in the forthcoming Mel Harrison if team manager Brian Ayrton has his finger in the pie.

Phil Hancock won the hard route riding his Vertigo with a high 47 from Saturday Y-G winner Sam Lampkin.

Bradford veteran Chris Johnson starred in the Clubman B with a penalty in section six on lap one. Spen will run again on August 25 at Gallows Pole Hill.

Results: Championship course: Phil Hancock (Montesa) 47, Sam Lampkin (Beta) 61, Phil Blacka (Vertigo) 65.

Clubman A: Adam Thornton (TRS) 18, Neil Wright (TRS) 21, Paul Kettlewell (Sherco) 25.

Clubman B: Chris Johnson (Sherco) 1, Chris Wilson (Gas Gas) 6, Gary Parkin (Gas Gas) 10.

Clubman C: Dave Robinson 0, Richard Hall 1 Gareth Mitchell 1. (All Beta). Sidecar: Anthony & Lucy Ayrton (Montesa) 60.