MERCIA’S Simon Bailey took the autumnal feel to the day in his stride as he stormed to win for a second year in a row at this year’s Burnsall Fell Race.

Bailey clocked a time of of 13.54. Second and third places were a battle between Calder Valley’s Charlie Ing and Wharfedale Harriers’ Tom Millard.

For most of the race, Ing was in second place but on the descent Millard chased him down and eventually overtook him to romp home in 14.45, a mere second ahead of Ing (14.46).

In the ladies race, Calder Valley’s Jo Buckley was first to the summit just ahead of Pudsey and Bramley’s Rachel Pilling.

On the descent Pilling chose the better line to win the ladies race in 19.24 from Buckley (20.06) and Mercia’s Kirstin Bailey (20.13).

In the under-17 race Keighley and Craven’s Sam Headley had an excellent race to win in 11.26 from season favourite Chesterfield’s Finlay Grant (11.50), and Bingley Harriers’ Alex Flaherty (12.10).

The girls race was won by Telford’s Maggie Preece (14.23) from Cumberland’s Emily Swarbrick (15.30) and Wharfedale’s Katie Handley (19.47).

Ambleside’s Charlie Allmond (7.13) won the under-14 race from Chorley’s Jack Lamb (7.49) and Cumberland’s Tom Adams (7.58).

Bingley Harriers’ Rebecca Flaherty won the girls’ race in 8.22 from Wharfedale’s Olivia Aldham (9.02), a second ahead of Horwich’s Emma Bradley (9.03).

The season-long friendly tussle between Keighley’s Archie Peaker and Wharfedale’s Tom Hooper continued in the under-12 race with Peaker claiming victory in this race in 5.42 from Hooper (5.56). Third boy was Keighley’s James Sadler-Townsend (6.02).

Keighley’s Katie Buckley stormed home with a big grin on her face to win the girls’ race in 6.28 from Barlick’s Lucille Pickles (6.33) and Cumberland’s Zoe Brannon (6.54).

Winning was kept in the family as Keighley’s Bethan Buckley won the under-9 race outright in 3.44 from Wharfedale’s Elena Hooper (4.12) and Barlick’s Bella McCredie (4.17).

Barlick’s Isaac Reeday won the boys race in 3.48 from Keighley’s Joe Timbers (4.10) and Bingley’s Thomas Jebb (4.11).