SKIPTON Golf Club has elected new officials for 2020.

Nick Shaikh succeeds Tom Hayes as president, while Ian Sewell takes over from Bill Simpson as men’s captain and Ros Maloney succeeds Carolyn Murphy as ladies captain.

Shaikh, who lives in Ilkley, moved to Yorkshire 26 years ago and has been involved in the club ever since.

“I considered it to be an honour to be elected captain of the club in 2011 and feel the same for being the president this year,” he said.

New men’s captain Ian Sewell was born in Barrow in Furness and has lived in Sutton-in-Craven for the past 40 years.

Sewell, who joined Skipton Golf Club in 2014, said: “Our strategic aim will be to maintain the continuous improvement that’s been seen over the last few years in presenting the course in an ever-improving condition.”

Sewell, whose men's captain charity will be The Air Ambulance Service, noted that the junior organiser role was now open due to Sylvia Eastwood’s retirement and he thanked her for her commitment and many years’ of service.

He said the club would ensure the future of the junior section by implementing the Safe Golf Certificate during 2020, now a requirement of the Yorkshire Golf Union.

New ladies captain Ros Moloney, who has been a Skipton member since 1992, has chosen local charity “ThisIsLuke” for her fundraising efforts in 2020.

All three new incumbents received their club jackets at a special general meeting this month.

Roger Moore was appointed vice-captain, Chris Payne scratch captain, Olly Burton rabbits captain, Richard Spencer senior captain, Frazer Clarke junior captain and Rob Watson in the 8-15 role.