EIGHT batsmen scored centuries on Saturday in the Craven League, and four of them came from the South Craven area, with Silsden and Glusburn having two each.

The Cobbydalers, who climbed two places to fourth after this victory, won the toss at Cononley in Division Two and scored an imposing 288-2, with wicket-keeper Ben Sugden batting throughout the innings to score exactly 100 not out.

Joining him in the three-figure category was No.3 Robert Jones, who made 116, as the centurions added 197 for the second wicket.

Cellar dwellers Cononley were 81-6 in reply as Joshua Waind (5-23) cut through their top and middle order, but the home side did well to reach 165, courtesy of Harry Parker (42) and Anthony Haigh (37no).

Thornton-in-Craven opted to field at third-placed Glusburn in Division Three and were on the wrong end of a 268-3 scoreline as opener Matthew Lloyd scored 101 not out off 104 balls.

He found a more rapid ally in Steve Brown, whose 117 came off just 69 balls. The pair put on 171 for the second wicket.

Wicket-keeper Jonny Martin made 47 opening affairs for the visitors, but only David Wolfe (27no) also topped 20 as they were dismissed for 140, with Irfan Khaliq their chief destroyer with 5-22.

In Division One, title-chasing Cowling were in danger of going down to their fifth defeat of the season when they lost five cheap wickets chasing 191 for victory at home to Embsay.

However, the hosts were rescued by Naqi Hassan (68no) and the classy Ajmal Choudhry (45no), as they triumphed by four wickets with 23 balls to spare, with Haroon Ali having taken 4-32.

Earlier, Laiq Ur Rehman took 3-10 as the wickets were shared around in Embsay’s innings of 190, with Mohsin Saghir scoring 73.

Ingrow are starting to put distance between themselves and the bottom two with only four matches now left.

They won the toss and batted at home to Sutton, one of the sides below them, making 168-4, with Joe Hoyle (70no) being another to bat through the innings.

Skipper Matthew Courtman chipped in with 43 as James Mcdonald proved a worthy foe, taking 2-25 off his 10 overs.

Sutton were then castled for 76, with captain David Snowden continuing his fine form with 35.

Shahid Ajmal proved virtually unplayable with 5-7, while Ben Pursey took 4-16.

In Division Two, leaders Gargrave owed almost all of their 133 to opener Lee Barrett (62) and No.3 Chris Lambert (56), who added 89 for the second wicket at Skipton CI.

Sam Smith maintained his fine season with 4-10.

However, only Martin Chisnall (23) and Smith (26) could then top 20 as the Sandylanders were toppled for 90, with Gargrave skipper Will Smith taking 5-21.

Bradley, just three points behind Denholme in third, won the toss and chose to field at home to Bradford & Bingley III, dismissing them for 124 as Toby Meynell (4-9) ran riot.

Bradley were in trouble at 18-3 before Zain Naeem (73) carried them towards a four-wicket victory in a knock that lasted only 32 balls.

Riddlesden made 275-3 after winning the toss and batting at home to 10-man Cowling II in Division Three.

Cowling were then rolled over for 63 by the leaders for whom Mohammed Zulfiqar returned the outstanding figures of 6-7 from his 10 overs.

Oakworth II dented Embsay II’s hopes of finishing in the top two in their last season before joining the Nidderdale League.

Visitors Embsay made 170-8, with Gareth Wooler unlucky not to reach his ton, batting through the 40 overs for 97 not out.

Oakworth won by four wickets off the first ball of the 37th over, with Wooler taking 3-53.

Sutton II, who are bottom of the table, were no match for visitors Hepworth & Idle II, who had two centurions in their 232-1 – openers Mark Davies (106) and Jack Bedford (109no).

The home side could only make 90 in reply, of which opener Stuart Tillotson scored 40.

Division Four leaders Long Lee II were handed a concession by Bradley II, while Glusburn II conceded to second-placed Gargrave II.

CI II made a decent enough 152-9 at Sandy Lane after being put in by Bingley Congs III, with contributions coming from Mel Seward (33) and Irfan Bandshah (29no).

Congs were then dismissed for 93, with Darren Pighills taking 6-18.