Barnoldswick Town FC have announced that their reserve team has been accepted into the West Lancashire Football League following an application process.

It’s something that the club has been striving to achieve for a number of years, and they’ve finally had the positive news of acceptance after a long period of waiting.

The move means that Barlick will create a new team for the club, Barnoldswick Town Reserves. All home games will be played at the Silentnight Night Stadium.

It will provide youngsters at the club and from surrounding areas with a pathway up to senior football from junior level.

With a 16-team league, there will be 30 league games plus two cup competitions, providing consistent football and dedicated training sessions throughout the season.

The club’s management team will consist of Chris Gaskell and Paul Holgate, who both have vast experience of local football and will provide the perfect leadership and guidance for the team.

In a further boost for everyone at Barnoldswick Town Reserves, the club have confirmed an affiliation with local club, Rolls FC.

Through their social media, Barlick commented: “Following on from the exciting news that next season we will field a reserve side in the West Lancashire League, we are pleased to announce an affiliation with neighbours Rolls FC.

“The newly formed reserve side will be run by Chris Gaskell and Paul Holgate, who have been in charge of the Rolls first team for the last few years.

“This affiliation will provide a development pathway for players with aspirations of playing for Barnoldswick Town FC.

“The affiliation will see a playing platform from the local Craven and East Lancashire League, right through to the West Lancashire League and then through to the first team at Barnoldswick.

“It will help to encourage all the best talent in the area to play locally.”

Local business, Northern Medical Ultrasound have already jumped on board with the project and will be the main sponsor for Barnoldswick Town Reserves next season.

In other news, the draw for the First Round of the Macron Cup was carried out at the League AGM held on Saturday 15 June and was carried out by League Vice-Chairman Geoff Wilkinson, ably assisted by League Director, Mr Martin Fallon.

Barnoldswick, the reigning champions of the competition, have received a First Round Bye due to the fact they are the cup holders.

They form part of ‘Group 2’ alongside teams such as Route One Rovers, Steeton and AFC Blackpool.

The full draw can be found HERE.