ERMYSTED’S made a cleansweep of the five boys team titles in the Harrogate & Craven Area Cross Country Championships at King James School, Knaresborough last Wednesday.

James Lund produced the top individual display to win the senior race on an afternoon when 17 Ermysted’s runners earned selection for Harrogate & Craven in January’s County Championships

Donnabhan Rudden made the early pace in the Year 7 race with Andrew Robinson just behind. Rudden was holding on during the second lap as a group of four runners, including Robinson, losed him down.

Rudden couldn’t hold on as the group all caught and passed him with Robinson taking fourth place and Rudden coming fifth in a race won by Sam Hedley of Upper Wharfedale.

Rohan Smith came home eighth while Logan Brown was the final counter in 24th place as the team recorded a total of 41 points. Elliot Wood (25th), Tom Ashley (33rd). The Ermysted’s guest runners were Andrew Clay (36th), Bobby Dixon (39th), Archie Foster (45th) and Dylan Canny (55th).

The Year 8 team have been running well and repeated their success of last year. Alex Thompson kept his good form going by taking the bronze medal.

He was well supported by Will Atkinson (5th), Jath Lee (7th) and Hamish Wills (9th) for a total of 24 points and a clear win. The non-scorers were Ben Rees (13th), Toby Maynell (30th), Donnacha Washington (31st), Jamie Burgess (37th) and Alfie Butler (44th).

Harvey Lewis and Louis Hudson both got medals last year and were aiming for a repeat performance in the Year 9 race.

It was clear from the start that first place was gone but Lewis led a procession of Ermysted’s runners as he claimed the silver medal.

Sebastian Seggar-Staveley just edged out Hudson for the bronze medal while Charlie Wood was fifth as Ermysted’s returned a stunning score of 14 points. Arthur Peel came home eight with

Charles Booth (15th), Tom Horsley (16th), Joe Carnelley (17th) and George Weir (19th) showed Ermysted’s strength in depth before their last runner Matt Speak came home 45th.

The Year 10/11 team produced another fine performance as they took the title with 29 points. Tom Barrett led the way in fourth place while Sam Jackson was fifth and Will Thompson (7th) as the individual gold went to Giggleswick's Euan Brennan.

Their victory was assured as Matthew Kenneth completed the scoring team in 13th place. Sam Thom had the biggest improvement on last year as he was 16th, Laurie Petrucci came next in 24th just ahead of Patric Valentine (25th).

It was clear from early in the Year 12 & 13 race that Jimmy Lund was in the running for gold.

After the first half lap he pulled clear with Alex Ashby fourth and the rest of the team inside the first dozen runners.

The top places didn’t change as Lundy claimed Ermysted’s only individual title and Ashby had to settle for a place just outside the medals.

Ben Archer did well to run on through some pain to finish eighth before debutant Will Fryars came tenth with Ben Speak (12th).

Their total of just 23 points meant Ermysted’s won all five team titles for the first time in the history of the competition.