TED Mason produced a fine run to record his sixth win in the Kirkby Gala Fell race.

The Wharfedale Harriers runner now gets his name on the honours board after leaving his rivals trailing.

By the time runners left the road, Mason was in the clear lead.

The new course is slightly longer than the old route and Mason ran home in 33min.10sec.

Second and third respectively were Helm Hill’s Ben Proctor (33:.45) and Ambleside’s John Atkinson (34:09).

Wharfedale’s Pippa Barrett won the ladies race (41:30), with a clear lead over team mate Jean Powell (43:20) and Helm Hill’s Kathleen Aubrey (44:33).

The under-17 course goes to the summit of Out Park and back and was won by Settle Harriers’ Sebastian Segger-Staveley (19:05) from Keighley and Craven’s Eric Beaumont (19:53) and Kendal’s Jacob Smith (20.34).

The girls’ race was won by Dallam’s Rosie Woodhams (20:00), who came third overall, continuing her excellent season.

Clayton-le-Moors’ Briony Holt (20:43) was second with Bingley Harriers’ Emily Field (21:14) taking third place.

Turning part way up the steep side of Out Park, the under-14 race is a tough out and back route.

Wharfedale team mates Alexander Thompson and Sam Smith led the runners out of the Gala field with Smith gaining the lead as they climbed the fell.

Smith maintained his advantage to win in 14:58 from Thompson (15.40) and Ambleside’s Harry Bowen (16:07).

Wharfedale’s Alice Jones won the girls’ race (16:16) coming fourth overall with a clear win from Ilkley Harriers’ Bernadette Raven (17:01) and Keighley’s Beth Roberts (17:16).

Calder Valley’s William Hall maintained his excellent form as he romped home first in the under-12 race (8:51) ahead of Blackburn Harriers’ Dexta Thompson (9:09) and Ambleside’s Rowan Ashworth (9:16).

The girls’ race winner was Leven Valley’s Olesia Winder (9:21), again continuing her superb form this season.

The second and third girls were Helm Hill’s Sarah Smith (10:10) and Otley’s Charlotte Rawstron (10:18).

The under-nine race features two circuits of the Gala field with applause all the way.

The boys race winner was Ambleside’s Tom Ashworth (2:25) from Settle’s Jack Sanderson (2:29) and Ilkley’s Tom McCarthy (2:33). The girls race was as competitive as ever with Barlick’s Chloe Boothman winning (2:43) winning from team-mate Evie Scott (2:46) and Settle’s Lucy Bagot (2:48) a mere five seconds behind the winner.