KEIGHLEY'S Jimmy Lund has retained his place on the Yorkshire Triathlon Academy programme.

The 18-year-old Ermysted's Grammar School sixth-form student joins 14 other triathletes on the scheme, which has previously produced GB stars Alistair and Jonny Brownlee and Gordon Benson.

Jimmy came through some stiff selection trials earlier this month in Leeds, which consisted of a three-kilometre track run at Leeds Beckett University's Headingley Campus, a 400-metre swim at the Edge Pool and a 5km cycling time trial at the Brownlee Centre.

The regional academies are the foundations of the triathlon pathway in England and Great Britain.

Yorkshire's head coach Sinan Osman works with the national talent pathway staff and regional committee to deliver a programme of support to the best young triathletes in the region.

Jimmy will now attend the launch day on Saturday, and planned winter training sessions (often with the East Midlands Academy) include a three-day camp at Dalby Forest in the North York Moors on October 22-24, a three-day camp in Lancashire on November 24-26, a cyclo-cross day in Leeds on December 2 or 9 and a two-day mini camp at Thornbridge in the Peak District on March 23-24.

The teenager will then attend a performance assessment weekend at Loughborough University next April, which will determine his ranking for the 2018 British Triathlon Junior Super Series.

As well as the training provided by the Yorkshire Triathlon Academy, Jimmy will continue his ten hours a week of swimming training as a member of City of Bradford Swimming Club, coached by head coach Andy Pearce as part of Bradford Council's Aquatics Competition Programme.

Jimmy will also receive running training as a member of Keighley & Craven Athletics Club under the guidance of coaches John Dennis and Alan Buckley, and cycling training with Stuart Rider of Riders Cycle Centre in Skipton.

Yorkshire Triathlon Academy 2017-18: Nathan Smith, Toby Osman, Connor Henderson, Cameron Reilly, Tyler Hutchinson, Maurice Calton-Seal, Jimmy Lund, Abbie Hollyoake, Dominic Coy, Joe Sherman, Harry Butterworth, Finnian Hutchinson, Martha Calton-Seal, Frederica Moore, Abi Smith.