Kingstone Press National Conference League Division Three: Dewsbury Moor Maroons 44 West Bowling 26

NATIONAL Conference Division Three table-toppers West Bowling were given notice that their march towards the silverware is far from being a foregone conclusion in a hefty 44-26 defeat at third-placed Dewsbury Moor Maroons.

Glenn Barraclough’s boys, who have had the firepower and at times the good fortune to recover from early setbacks this term, once again made a slow start to hand their hosts a 12-0 lead in the opening exchanges.

Full back Ben Heald joined the line to reduce the arrears but it was a long wait for the green and whites before loose forward Richard Lumb crossed shortly before the interval to see them into the sheds at 22-8 down.

The Maroons were quick off the mark in the second stanza as well with a converted try before skipper Lumb showed his team-mates the way to the chalk once more for his brace.

West’s customary revival looked on song when centre Dan Gregory and stand-off Harry Williams crossed to peg back the arrears, and Williams’ ability with the boot ensured a full reward to narrow the gap to 28-26 with an hour on the clock.

The loss of substitute packman Elliot Cousin to the sin bin, however, after comments to the touch judges did little to help the cause, and the Dewsbury hosts showed that they were in no mood to relinquish their prize scalp, killing off Bowling's hopes with a late 16-point late to win comfortably at the final whistle.

* The Pennine ARL winter competition will commence on Saturday, September 9, with all four Bradford sides competing in Division Two (West).

Wyke, Birkenshaw, Clayton and Queensbury will enjoy a number of mouth-watering derbies that will ensure much-needed revenue for their coffers, while Brighouse Rangers will reap the benefit of last season’s success with a berth in Division One.

Pennine LeagueChampionship Division: Queens, Upton, Ovenden, Illingworth, Cutsyke, Siddal, Oulton, Featherstone Lions. Division One: Newsome, Ossett, King Cross, Brighouse, Methley, Hanging Heaton, Sharlston, Eastmoor, Hunslet Parkside, Lock Lane. Division Two West: Greetland, Slaithwaite, Wyke, Hollinwood, Birkenshaw., Queensbury, Clayton, West Craven, Boothtown, Underbank, Ovenden A. Division Two East: Wakefield City, Woodhouse, Moorends, Allerton Bywater, Kinsley, Wortley, Selby, Swillington, Beeston, Kippax, East Leeds. Eleven-A-Side: Cowling, Shaw Cross, Upton A, Dearne Valley, Sheffield Hillsborough, Silsden.