THERE will be a fresh name on the Cowling Cup trophy this season as two Mewies Solicitors Craven League new boys shone.

Embsay II, who have won the second teams' trophy seven times in the last 19 years, went down by 25 runs at home to Haworth Road II, while Bradford & Bingley III won by three wickets with six overs to spare at home to Barrowford II.

The Baildon Bottom side were indebted to evergreen Charlie Hainsworth, who made 80 from 114 balls, Danesh Tariq (34) and Adam Cook (28) chipping in to help their score to 205 at the end of their overs, with Simon Holt taking 5-53 off 12 overs.

Nev Allan (70 not out off 119 balls) led the reply and Jono Coward made 33 and Paul Wormald 21 as the score reached 180-8 at the end of their 45 overs. Tariq finished with 4-44 and Cook 3-49.

The other tie was played on the main pitch at Bingley, with Barrowford II reaching 81-1, Tony Stafford falling for 52.

They then lost their last eight wickets for the addition of only 73 runs to close disappointingly on 154 as Dave Critchlow took 4-41 and Andy Dobson 3-54.

The hosts were indebted to Tim Carrow (69), Dobson (31no) and Dean Naidoo (29) for getting them home with six overs to spare, Rob Harris (3-34) and Abdul Mannan (3-29) trying hard with the ball.

The final will be at Haworth on Sunday, August 10.

Unbelievably, after the overnight and morning rain, play was possible in five games on Saturday, with three of them reaching a conclusion. One can only conclude that some players and umpires enjoy playing in the rain.

In the First Division, the only game played was at Haworth Road, where Cowling were the visitors.

The Coliseum side were restricted to 74 in 37.2 overs, with Mark Adams top-scoring with 16 as Muhammad Zahid claimed 5-36 and Andy Maude 4-34.

Zahid made 43 as the Baildon Bottom side galloped home by three wickets in only 11.3 overs.

Division Three leaders Gargrave were going along very nicely at home to Pendle Forest.

Jonah Smith (31no) and Lee Barrett (23no) had helped them to 58-1 after only 12 overs when play was stopped.

Airedale, whose covers did the trick, move into third spot in Division Four after they saw off Bingley Congs II at Bradford Road.

The Beckfoot side, batting first, collapsed to 34-7 before Michael Baines (51no) and skipper Jonny Teale (16) saw them to 100-7 in their allocated 30 overs, with Yusuf Mohammed taking 3-7 off seven overs.

Trevor Cox (38) and Warren Coppack (45no) saw the hosts to a convincing five-wicket win, with Teale taking 3-36.

Ingrow II batted first at Denholme II and posted 176-8 in their 45 overs. Nick Crook led the way with 77 and Adrian Weatherill chipped in with 26 as Alasdair Gerrard took 3-25.

Callum Gerrard (90no) and Jack Harrison (47) saw the home side to the spoils by eight wickets in only 29.3 overs.

In Division Five, Wilsden II had reached 31-1 off eight overs at Skipton CI II when played was halted.