CRAVEN runners landed four individual titles in the Northern Schools Cross Country Championships at Manchester’s Longford Park.

Lilli Carr and Ruby Firth of Skipton Girls High School won the girls Year 7/8 and Year 9/10 races respectively, while Sam Headley of Upper Wharfedale won the boys Year 7 title and Alex Thompson triumphed in the Year 8 event for Ermysted's.

Skipton Girls High School won the Girls Aggregate Trophy and Ermysted's lifted the Trefoil Trophy for the lowest aggregate points in the three youngest age groups.

Ermysted's were also third in the overall Roses Trophy for the best school.

It was Carr who set the tone for a great day for Skipton Girls High School. Her team-mate Alice Jones was the hot favourite but Carr overtook her on the second lap before running away for an impressive win.

Jones finished second with Emma Peel 12th, and Mia Petrucci 15th, confirming team victory. Hannah Jackson was a non-scorer in a creditable 19th place.

Firth continued the good work as she produced her best individual performance to date to secure a stunning victory. She led on the first lap and ran away from the field in determined fashion.

Her team gave excellent support as Katie Atkinson fourth, Emily Jones fifth, and Teegan Elson sixth had the lowest winning total of the day. Eleanor Root was a non-scorer in 14th place.

This meant that the Girl’s Aggregate Trophy’for the best score in two out of the three girls races also went to Skipton Girls High School.

Upper Wharfedale’s Sam Headley is another athlete who has been improving almost with every race this year and he led the field home in the Year 7 boys race.

The Ermysted's challenge was led by Rohan Smith and Andrew Robinson who were fifth and sixth respectively. Tom Ashley 20th and Elliot Wood 30th, completed the scoring as Ermysted's were placed third in the team event.

There was no stopping the outstanding Thompson in the Year 8 race. He ran away from the rest of the field for a clear victory.

Will Atkinson seventh, Hamish Wills 11th, and Ben Rees 14th, enabled Ermysted's to finish second in the team event – one point behind the winners.

Their non-scorers were Toby Maynell 34th, Donacha Washington 37th, and Alfie Butler 44th.

Ermysted’s Year 9 team were champions two years ago and they came up trumps again.

Sebastian Seggar-Staveley has been getting better with each race and was challenging at the front from the start.

A measure of his improvement this year was his third-place finish. Last year he was 17th.

Harvey Lewis fifth, Louis Hudson seventh, and Arthur Peel tenth, took the team prize for Ermysted's.

Their non-scorers were Charles Wood 11th, Joe Carnelley 13th, and Matt Speak 34th.

Ermysted’s Year 10/11 team included Tom Barrett and Sam Jackson who will be running in the English Schools’ Championships later this month.

Barrett took sixth place while Jackson was tenth.

Matthew Kenneth returned to form in 17th place and Patric Valentine 25th, as the team finished third. Their non-scorers were Sam Thom in 27th and Will Thompson 31st.

Ermysted’s seniors were led by the outstanding Jimmy Lund. He has previously been an individual champion three times at the championships but had to settle for second place this time.

Jacob Jackson, in only his second race for his school, came ninth ahead of Alex Ashby 14th, and Will Fryers 21st. Their non-scorer was cross-country captain George Maloney in 24th place and the team took third place.